The DVD player is a MUST!

Stop! Leave me alone! Don’t do that! Don’t touch me! Are we there yet? The radio is too loud! I don’t like that song. It’s too cold…no it is not! Yes, it is!! On and on and on it goes until at least the youngest three fall asleep. Then there are a few moments of peace and quiet. And I do mean just a few moments. Then it is back to the exchange. Hence, the reason why the DVD player is a MUST HAVE on road trips.

For our trip to Destin, FL, we decided to rent a van instead of putting the miles on my 2005 Honda Odyssey which has a DVD player. Yes, I use movies to have some quiet time in the car while I am driving, especially since I drive a lot. When my husband reserved the car, he specifically asked for a Chrysler Town and Country because we KNEW it had a DVD player. However, when we went to pick up the car, Enterprise only had a Dodge Caravan which did not have a DVD player. Naturally, I was not happy because I had checked out videos from the library to avoid as much bickering as possible. Can you imagine riding 5 to 6 hours with kids ages 14 to 2 years old? If they were quiet, it would not be a problem. However, my kids are boisterous, independent and bold. This is why I prefer driving at night while they are asleep. Therefore it is a MUST…a REQUIREMENT…not an option to have a DVD player in the car for our next vacation.

Leave a Reply

